You never stop learning…

©2016 Klicksmart Photography, all rights reservedThis week a new magazine caught my attention – ‘The Week Junior’, the fastest growing children’s magazine (highlighted is the claim on the mag).  So I decided to see for myself what the fuss was about and I bought it.  I read through it; it is packed with information, articles and little inserts about science, history, literature, current affairs,games apps, puzzles.  It looks pretty good – what struck me is the approach.  A lot of the contributions came from other children; trust and credibility in the magazine being built from peers contribution.  Has to be good right?

How long will it entertain a child before he or she goes back to the computer, iPad or TV?  I cannot say.

I decided to ask my own daughter, 17 years old – not so junior perhaps – for her opinion. I handed it to her and asked her what she thought of it.  She read through it and considering that the mag is only of a few pages, it kept her attention for 5 minutes.  Her verdict: it is good, certainly has a lot of information (eyebrows raised).

So, what else do I take away from it? Well, a mouth-watering S’mores recipe made with digestive biscuits, marshmallows and chocolate, apparently first published by the Girl’s Scouts in the US in 1927…it looked delicious…and yes, I have a sweet tooth, and yes, it is true sadly, I never stop learning…

I would be happy to take your views on it, the magazine I mean…not the recipe.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

